Jordan Ramis PC - Attorneys at Law Established in 1963, we are an entrepreneurial law firm serving business and government throughout the Pacific Northwest. Articles written by attorneys at Jordan Ramis PC are featured here. http://www.jordanramis.com/feedarticles.xml Jordan Ramis PC http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss en-us Tue, 12 Nov 2019 08:56:15 -0700 podcasts@jordanramis.com Tue, 12 Nov 2019 08:56:15 -0700 False Advertising, Unfair Competition, and New CBD Regulatory Hurdles for Hemp http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/false-advertising-unfair-competition-and-new-cbd-regulatory-hurdles-for-hemp/ How and where will the FTC and FDA will be setting boundaries for the CBD market? Provisions to Address PFAS Contamination Included in FY20 NDAA http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/provisions-to-address-pfas-contamination-included-in-fy20-ndaa/ The federal government’s latest attempt at addressing public health concerns over per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) has taken the form of a Senate amendment to the Fiscal Year 2020 (FY20) National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA). Introduction to Intellectual Property http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/introduction-to-intellectual-property/ At Jordan Ramis we practice both intellectual property and business law because these two areas are very much intertwined. After all, your intellectual property is one of your most valuable business assets. Land Use and Property 101: Restrictive Covenants http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/land-use-and-property-101--restrictive-covenants-/ In the context of property and land use, a restrictive covenant is a promise of the respective landowner to not do something on the property. Leadership Corner: Time Management http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/leadership-corner--time-management/ Each of us is faced with determining the best way to manage our time.  Achieving effective time management is challenging because time is our most constrained resource, and we have built a culture where being busy–indeed, being overscheduled–is viewed as a mark of distinction, as evidence of our importance, and generally as a desirable state of affairs. Division III Clarifies Interpretation of Restrictive Covenants in Subdivisions http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/division-iii-clarifies-interpretation-of-restrictive-covenants-in-subdivisions/ In Coyne et al. v. Grigg Family et al., lot owners within a subdivision in Richland, Washington, sued other lot owners, including the City of West Richland, for violations of restrictive covenants applicable to the subdivision.  Specifically, the lot owners challenged the commercial uses of lots within the subdivision. EPA Revises FOIA Regulations Without Notice and Comment http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/epa-revises-foia-regulations-without-notice-and-comment/ On June 26, 2019, the Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) published a final rule updating its Freedom of Information Act (“FOIA”) regulations, without the standard notice and public comment period. The rule is effective on July 26, 2019. Choose Your Own Adventure: The Case of Federal or State Jurisdiction http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/choose-your-own-adventure--the-case-of-federal-or-state-jurisdiction/ On June 21, 2019, the US Supreme Court overruled a 1985 case concerning the taking of property for public use, because it led to unexpected, and unfairly applied, results. Leadership Corner: Stop and Consider How to Share the Opportunity http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/leadership-corner--stop-and-consider-how-to-share-the-opportunity/ Think about how you got started and the benefits conferred upon you by others in your field, and look for the opportunity to serve others in that same way. HB 1923 Passed; Encouragement for Increased Housing Density http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/hb-1923-passed--encouragement-for-increased-housing-density-/ Earlier this month, Governor Inslee signed into law HB 1923, an act amending the Growth Management Act (GMA) to provide incentives for local governments to increase housing density.