Jordan Ramis PC - Attorneys at Law Established in 1963, we are an entrepreneurial law firm serving business and government throughout the Pacific Northwest. Articles written by attorneys at Jordan Ramis PC are featured here. http://www.jordanramis.com/feedarticles.xml Jordan Ramis PC http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss en-us Tue, 19 Mar 2019 10:43:20 -0700 podcasts@jordanramis.com Tue, 19 Mar 2019 10:43:20 -0700 Clean Water Act Amendment May Enhance Local Governments’ Ability to Meet Unfunded Water Quality Mandates http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/clean-water-act-amendment-may-enhance-local-governments-ability-to-meet-unfunded-water-quality-mandates/ Local government utility agencies across the country have secured the passage of a bill that may greatly enhance their ability to maintain their wastewater and stormwater treatment systems in compliance with the Federal Water Pollution Control Act. PFAS, Part 1: EPA Releases Action Plan http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/pfas-part-1--epa-releases-action-plan/ Per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) have been in the news increasingly in the last several years. On February 14, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency released its PFAS Action Plan, setting forth its roadmap for addressing these contaminants. Leadership Corner: Re-envisioning Communication http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/leadership-corner--re-envisioning-communication/ We communicate through technology, which in the workplace primarily takes the form of email. But why? And should we? The Leadership Corner http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/the-leadership-corner/ Welcome to the Leadership Corner of the Dirt Law blog! This is my space to write about topics that aren’t legal per se, but that do–or should–have a place in not only the legal profession, but any industry or profession. EPA, Army Corps Release Revised WOTUS Rule http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/epa-army-corps-release-revised-wotus-rule/ Interstate waters would no longer be a separate category of waters. Instead, only those interstate waters falling into one of the other six categories would be jurisdictional. Similarly, while the agencies are not proposing any changes to the impoundments category, they are seeking comment on whether impoundments could be incorporated into another category of waters. Washington Supreme Court: WDFW Has Authority Over Projects Above Ordinary High Water Marks http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/washington-supreme-court--wdfw-has-authority-over-projects-above-ordinary-high-water-marks/ Metro Council Approved Urban Growth Boundary Expansions http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/metro-council-approved-urban-growth-boundary-expansions/ Roger Lenneberg: An Icon in the Construction Industry http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/roger-lenneberg--an-icon-in-the-construction-industry/ How to Sufficiently Argue Your Land Use Appeal: Division III Clarifies Scope of “Exhaustion of Administrative Remedies” Requirement http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/how-to-sufficiently-argue-your-land-use-appeal--division-iii-clarifies-scope-of-exhaustion-of-administrative-remedies”-requirement/ The most important and often the most litigated issue under LUPA involves standing. With respect to standing, LUPA requires that the appellant satisfy four criteria. SCOTUS: ESA Critical Habitat Designations Must Be “Habitat”; Remands on Whether Unoccupied and Unsuitable Area Can Be Designated as Critical Habitat for Dusky Gopher Frog http://jordanramis.com/dirt-law-blog/scotus--esa-critical-habitat-designations-must-be-habitat”--remands-on-whether-unoccupied-and-unsuitable-area-can-be-designated-as-critical-habitat-for-dusky-gopher-frog/ In a long-running, potentially monumental case regarding the scope of the Endangered Species Act (“ESA”), agency discretion and authority, and property rights, the U.S. Supreme Court unanimously reversed the Fifth Circuit’s decision regarding the dusky gopher frog critical habitat designation.